Gone Girl

I decided to read Gone Girl after hearing about it on the Books on the Nightstand podcast, which in my opinion is the best podcast ever. Michael Kindness, one of the casters, talked about it. What got me was he said he couldn’t say too much about the plot. I’ll summarize what he said….

Wife goes missing on what would have been her fifth wedding anniversary. Cops starting looking at husband, who, the day she goes missing, says he’s already told the cops five lies to that point. And that is all I will say about the plot.

I thought it was a good book, but it was hard to read in places. Part of my problem is that most of the characters are very unlikable in important ways. But I think that may have been the point.

Nick, the husband is one of those good-looking men who doesn’t have to try very hard. He has a cool job in New York working at a magazine. Then he loses his job. His mother gets cancer and his father Alzheimer’s in Missouri. So he convinces Amy, his cosmopolitan, New York wife, to move with him. They rent a foreclosed McMansion. Nick and his sister, who he calls, Go, his twin, open The Bar using the last of his wife’s trust fund.

Amy parents are psychologists who wrote a series of best-selling children’s books, Amazing Amy. The story is told from two points of view – Nick and Amy. Nick narrates the present and Amy’s diary present her view of the past. The reason I am not saying much about the plot is that there are two very huge plot twists that to talk about, would ruin the book for those who are interested in reading it.

It’s well written and well plotted. My biggest beef with the book is that I didn’t really like any of the characters. ALL of them have serious character flaws that makes it hard to care at the end, what happens to any of them. I did like the fact that Nick and Amy had very distinct voices and very distinct memories and reactions that were different from each other. They were both well-developed, though you end up knowing Amy better by the end. I can’t imagine how hard it is to write in two very different voices. I can see being able to see the events of a marriage differently, but writing it is different. And she does a good job evoking completely different feelings from each one.

On Goodreads, I gave the book three stars. Mostly because it got hard to read in the middle and I really didn’t like the characters. But it was well written and plotted and that’s why I recommend it. That and I REALLY want someone to talk about part 3 with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

