Inside The Criminal Mind

I obtained a copy of this book through Blogging for Books and was curious about the subject matter. I have been interested in crime and prisons for  a long time. I thought this book might give me some insight into how criminals think. It did, but not enough to keep me reading until the end.

While I understand that the author, Dr. Stanton Samenow, has been studying this area for a very long time, he seems to be unwilling to consider any information that is contrary to his hypothesis or he makes the information fit into his hypothesis when it does not. The book is largely anecdotal information presented to prove his hypothesis that criminals think differently than we do, are attracted to dangerous behavior and there is not a whole lot we can do to change that.

I was disappointed that the book did not provide a more balance presentation of the information. I think that people can be presented with differing views and still adopt the author’s view if he presents a strong argument. I did not find that happening in this book. I gave up on about two-thirds of the way through. I normally do not quit on books, but I just could not read it to conclusion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

