The Girl On The Train

It’s been a little more than a month since I finished The Girl On The Train and I think I am finally forming my final opinion of the book. One of my friends who read it said it’s a book you either love or hate. I don’t necessarily agree with that analysis. I think there is room for middle ground. I firmly am standing on that middle ground. I did not love it, but I also did not hate it.

This is a book that’s premise relies on plot twists and unexpected surprises so I am not going to discuss the plot in too much detail. The basic premise is Rachel, a divorced alcoholic, takes the train to London every day and pretends to go to a job she doesn’t have. She passes her old neighborhood on the train and makes up stories about one particular couple she sees. The female half of the couple disappears. And chaos ensues……

This book has a lot going for it. It has suspense, mystery, and an unreliable narrator. The author makes great use of playing with the concepts of memory and time and that is part of the appeal of the book. While I thought that it started out a bit slowly, once I got going, I was compelled to finish.

Naturally, this book is drawing huge comparisons to Gone Girl because of the unreliable narrator and the plot twists and turns. In many respects, I liked this book better than Gone Girl. It felt more complete. Not that it was. It just had that feeling. The writing also felt a bit more polished to me. If you feel compelled to read this book, don’t let its slow start make you put it down. It really is worth sticking with.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

