Dead Wake Is Dead On

I read In the Garden of Beasts and learned so much about Germany and World War II before the U.S. entered the war. It is a subject I am interested in, but Erk Larson made it even more interesting. He does the same thing in Dead Wake. I learned in high school history about the sinking of the Lusitania and World War I. But I did not learn in much detail.

Larson’s brand of narrative non-fiction is highly entertaining and educational. He tells a riveting story of the voyage, the sinking and the aftermath. I found myself not wanting to put this book down. The stories are heart-wrenching. A mother forced to choose which child to rescue. A son separated from his mother. They are told with an eye for detail and compassion.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in WWI or the sinking of the Lusitania. But I also recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good, suspenseful, well-written story.

I received a copy of this book for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed herein are mine alone and do not reflect anyone else’s opinion. I received no compensation for writing this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

