Dial Down The Drama: Reducing Conflict and Reconnecting with Your Teenage Daughter

This book couldn’t have come along at a better time. I have been having a miserable time dealing with my 13 year old daughter the last few months. She has been moody, disrespectful, and rude to both me and her father. I was really at my wit’s end as to how to deal with her. She also has special needs so that adds to the frustration and anger on both sides.

Dial Down The Drama offers real solutions. And they start with you – the parent. We live in a world today that is exceptionally stressful. Jobs, families all pulling in different directions. The book reminded me that a lot of the problem between me and my daughter arose from my bad reactions to her because I am loaded with stress. My reactions to her are different when there aren’t external stressors in my life.

Chapter 9 regarding discipline was especially enlightening and has made me think about discipline and its uses in an entirely different light. I have been putting Ms. O’Grady’s advice to use and have noticed a difference in the way she and I interact.

I recommend this book to anyone who is struggling with their relationship with their daughter. It provides insight and exercises and it provides you with reassurance that you can survive the teenage years.

I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway and received no other compensation. The opinions expressed herein are mine and mine alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

