The Tunnels

I grew up in the 1980s. I vividly remember the Berlin Wall coming down in 1989. Prior to that, I remember Ronald Reagan giving his speech in which he said, “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down this wall.” I was given a piece of the wall by my neighbors who knew of my obsession with the Cold War and the Kennedy Administration. So I was really excited to read The Tunnels. And I was not disappointed.

East Germans decided they wanted out after the wall was built and groups were tunneling under the wall to the west and escaping the brutal East German Regime. CBS and NBC filmed these people finishing the tunnels and escaping from East Berlin. The State Department and Kennedy got wind of this and moved to have the shows stopped from airing. They were partially successful.

I was enthralled by this book. It was a really excellent history of the Cold War in Berlin and the spying and trickery that happened. I loved the personal stories of those who built the tunnels and escaped. I also got to watch the author discussing the book on C-Span which gave an added perspective into the story.

If you want to read a really good Cold War book and a really good history of the Berlin Wall, I highly recommend this book.

I received this book from Blogging for Books and received no other compensation in exchange for this review. The opinion expressed in this review are mine and mine alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

