Deadfall

I have read all of Linda Fairstein’s Alex Cooper books. And it’s one of my favorite series of legal thrillers. Her last book, Killer Look, I thought, was sub-par. I honestly thought that she phoned it in. The book was lacking the spark that most of her previous books had. I suppose that after you have written 17 novels, it is hard to keep things fresh. I was unhappy that Alex Cooper, after her kidnapping, became a whiner and a semi-alcoholic.

Deadfall picks up where Killer Look leaves off, with the assassination of the District Attorney in front of Alex and her cop boyfriend, Mike Chapman. Deadfall starts with Alex still being whiney and simpering as she’s being questioned by a NYPD detective who seems not to like her. Some people think that either Alex set up the DA or that she was the target of the assassin. I was ready to stop reading and be mad a Linda Faristein for writing another bad book. But I am eternally glad I stuck it out. Alex comes back and comes back strong. The book weaves a story that has several twists and turns in its plot. It is a well-written book and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

As usual, Ms. Fairstein uses New York City as a character as well. This time the Bronx Zoological Society is a supporting character in the book. Her vivid description of location adds another layer to her writing that I love. While the cliff hanger at the end of this book is not jaw dropping like it was in Killer Look, it will still bring me back to get an answer. If you are looking for a good mystery and a thrill ride, this is the book for you.

I got a digital advance copy of this book from First to Read. I was provided no other compensation in exchange for my review. The opinions expressed herein are mine and mine alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

