How to Fall in Love With Anyone

Ugh. I am so on the fence about this book. It falls into the same category for me as “Eat, Pray, Love” and “Wild”. While I had my own issues with those two books (really, who can afford to disappear for an extended period of time to get their shit together?), this one was a bit different.

Mandy Len Catron writes about love in a series of essays. That is the first difference. This book isn’t meant as one continuous discussion of a particular time. She bounces around to different points in her life, but the organization is still linear. I suppose I’m on the fence about this book for two reasons. First has everything to do with the author’s tone. The second has to do with me.

Catron’s tone throughout the book strives to be academic, but I couldn’t help but feel at times it was a bit whining and needy. I did find interesting her reactions to love and to dating. She, like a lot of modern women, myself included, reacted to love and dating the way she thought everyone expected her to and not in a way that was genuine to who she was. We have spent so much time being told how to act and what to expect that we conform our thoughts to outside forces and don’t allow that inside, we might feel differently. Most importantly, even if we do recognize that we feel differently about marriage, love commitment, etc., we do not feel comfortable or that it is ok with society that we show anything different than what is expected.

And that is why this book bothered me. It made me think about my own feelings and expectations. The difference is that I am not a thirty-something year old woman. So some of what she says I find useful for women who are younger and in that phase of life. Overall, this book was okay. I would recommend it to people who are trying to figure out their version of love and relationships.

I won this book from Goodreads and received no compensation in exchange for my review. The opinions contained herein, confusing as they are, are mine and mine alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

