The Trident

This is Jason Redman’s story of his life. He was wounded in Iraq. I say wounded. He was shot twice in the arm and once in the face. That shot destroyed his nose and has required many surgeries to repair the damage. But this is also the story of his life.

I’m going to flat-out say that I hated him in the beginning of this book. He was arrogant and didn’t take responsibility for anything he did. But, as I learned later. That was the point. Jason learned – the very hard way- how to be a leader.

What I loved about this book is that he admits fully and completely that he was arrogant and obnoxious. But he overcame those characteristics before he was wounded. He’s honest about how hard his recovery has been and how depressed losing SEAL buddies has been. He founded a non-profit and has made his life after the Navy meaningful.

I also loved that he loves his wife. I admire her for her strength, character, and unwavering supports of Jason. This book is also a good reminder that many of us who have not served do not do enough for those who have. We tend to ignore the war because it’s been going on so long and it’s not every other headline any more. That is wrong. I hope he knows that the vast majority of use, while we may not outwardly say so, appreciate his service and anyone who serves.

I listened to the audio book and I really liked the narrator. His voice was calm and commanding. If you are interested in Navy Seals or anything related to Jason, this is a good book to read. I really enjoyed it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment